8 Bravo Empowered Women Named

In celebration of women’s contribution to nation-building, Security Bank and Zonta Club of Makati & Environs have named the awardees of their search for the ‘8 Bravo Empowered Women’. The ‘8 Bravo Empowered Women Awards’ was created in 2015 to recognize Filipinas who demonstrate an unwavering commitment to leadership and service, enabling themselves and others toward economic and social progress. The search is conducted every two years where winners are chosen after a stringent process of nominations coming from all over the country. Security Bank and Zonta Club of Makati & Environs have partnered for this project because of their shared advocacy to empower women who help build a better society through their individual achievements and personal advocacies.

The awardees were interviewed and judged by a distinguished board of judges based on criteria that considered their achievements and how they help create a positive social impact on their community and the country.

These awardees were recognized for their outstanding contributions in their respective work in different categories. The winners are Sr. Mary Placid C. Abejo, OSB (Bravo Woman for Arts, Culture & Heritage); Zarah Jane D. Juan (Bravo Woman for Business); Susana P. Guerrero (Bravo Woman for Culinary Arts); Elsie Maria M. Romano (Bravo Woman for Education); Sadhana Buxani (Bravo Woman for Media & Public Affairs); Mary Beth B. Maningas (Bravo Woman for Science & Technology); Susan V. Ople (Bravo Woman for Social Services); Yvette K. Medalla (Bravo Woman for Sports); and Jessie Lichauco (Special Awardee).

The awarding ceremony was held on August 16, 2017 at the JYD Hall of the Security Bank Centre in Makati City.